

MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING 2024-2026

Between IFSC and IFSC Pan America

Approved by the Executive Board on 17 November 2024

1. PREAMBLE

- 1.1. This Memorandum of Understanding, in accordance with Article 15 of the IFSC Statutes, is subject to the IFSC Continental Regulations and its purpose is to further define the roles and responsibilities between the IFSC and IFSC Pan America in the delivering of the objectives of the IFSC Strategic Plan relevant to Pan America.
- 1.2. This Memorandum of Understanding is designed to be in alignment with the IFSC Continental Regulations in place. The IFSC recognises that there are different developmental and operational needs across continents and geographic areas that might affect the Continental Councils' ability to comply with all regulations. Therefore, the following adjustments acknowledge that certain continental regulatory structures cannot be met. At no time shall any modification allow a Continental Council to subvert the IFSC Statutes.
- 1.3. This Memorandum of Understand is subject to the approval of the IFSC Executive Board.

2. STRATEGIC OBJECTIVES

- 2.1. The strategic objectives that impact the continental level are set out in Article 1.4 and 2.3 of the IFSC Strategic Plan 2020 2028. More specifically:
 - 2.1.1. Develop a layered event structure of events based on athletes' performance to allow maximum athletes' participation across all continents (Article 1.4.4.);
 - 2.1.2. Ensure pathways for athletes striving to climb from national to continental, to world level, to build a qualification pyramidal system for World Cups in collaboration with the Continental Councils (Article 1.4.5.);
 - 2.1.3. Develop training camps for climbers, paraclimbers, routesetters, para routesetters, judges and coaches in cooperation with the Continental Councils and NFs (Article 2.3.2.).

3. ADJUSTMENTS

3.1. Article 6.3.1 of the IFSC Continental Regulations is adjusted as follows

- 1 Chair
- 3 Regional Vice Chairs (North, Central, South) in accordance with geographic division in appendix to this document.
- 1 Secretary
- 2 Athletes' Representatives (must represent different regions and different genders)
- Up to 3 Members at Large (One to act as Treasurer)
- 3.2 Based on Article 2.7.2 of the Continental Regulations, the Pan American Council identifies three regional sub-regions, including North, Central, and South America.
 - 3.2.1 The adopted geographic division of the three sub-regions is in appendix to this document.
 - 3.2.2 Each of the sub-regions will manage its own regional calendar of competitions.
 - 3.2.3 Development programmes will be run in accordance with the needs of the region, continent, and broader IFSC development plan and in balance with the other Continental Councils.
 - 3.2.4 Each sub-region will operate independently in their day-to-day activities and event management, but all activities and financial operations will consolidate under the Pan American Board for final oversight and reporting to the Executive Board in accordance with the Financial Regulations.
- 3.3 In addition to Article 4 of the IFSC Statutes:
 - 3.3.1 The Pan American Council shall recognise both English and Spanish as its official languages.
 - 3.3.2 For all official communications and in the case of disputes, English will be used as the reference language.



APPENDIX

Geographic Division of the three IFSC Pan America Sub-Regions in accordance with PASO Division (41 NOC)

NORTH AMERICA	 Canada (CAN) Mexico (MEX) United States of America (USA)
CENTRAL AMERICA AND CARIBBEAN	 Antigua and Barbuda (ANT) Aruba (ARU) Bahamas (BAH) Barbados (BAR) Bermuda (BER) Belize (BIZ) Cayman Island (CAY) Costa Rica (CRC) Cuba (CUB) Dominica (DMA) Dominica Republic (DOM) El Salvador (ESA) Grenada (GRN) Guatemala (GUA) Haiti (HAI) Honduras (HON) Virgin Islands (ISV) British Virgin Islands (IVB) Jamaica (JAM) Saint Lucia (LCA) Nicaragua (NIC) Panama (PAN) Saint Kitts and Nevis (SKN) Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (VIN) Trinidad and Tobago (TTO)
SOUTH AMERICA	 Argentina (ARG) Bolivia (BOL) Brazil (BRA) Chile (CHI) Colombia (COL) Ecuador (ECU) Guyana (GUY) Paraguay (PAR) Peru (PER) Suriname (SUR) Uruguay (URU) Venezuela (VEN)